…You can disable the Firefox ‘delete goes back’?


Sometimes, it’s the littlest things that can make the biggest difference. In this case, it’s the fact that if you’re not focused on a text box in Firefox, and you hit the ‘delete’ key (‘backspace’ for you Windows users), it takes you back to the previous page, and more importantly (and more annoyingly) erases anything that you may have typed into a form. This is especially annoying when you’ve just finished typing out a long entry, and before you can click submit, poof, it’s gone. Thankfully, Firefox hackers to the rescue with a simple tweak to fix the issue, and it goes a little something like this:

  1. Open a new Firefox window.
  2. Type “about:config” into the location bar. Press Enter. The ‘about:config’ page will open with a huge list of Firefox configuration properties.
  3. Enter “browser.backspace” into the filter. This will bring the ‘Browser.backspace_action’ preference into view.
  4. Control-click the ‘Browser.backspace_action’ Value column, and choose ‘Modify’ from the pop-up menu. Then, enter a new value of 2.
  5. Press OK.

Easy, wasn’t it? The littlest things…

[Via: UNEASYsilence]